Mexico name Rio Olympics sub-23 team

Mexico's Olympic team

Mexico has named the squad of 18 players it hopes will repeat as Olympic champions when the tournament begins in Rio de Janeiro next month.

The team includes Oribe Peralta, Jorge Torres Nilo and goalkeeper Alfredo Talavera as the three over 23 players. It will also feature starlet Irving Lozano, who is set to make a move to Manchester United later this summer.

Peralto helped Mexico win the gold medal four years ago at the London Olympics when El Tri defeated Brazil 2-1.

Mexico open the tournament with a tough test against Germany before playing against South Korea and Fiji.

Mexico’s Olympic team will hope for a better result than the one achieved by the senior team during last month’s Copa America, when that team lost 7-0 in the quarterfinals to eventual champion Chile.

Here is the full squad:

1.- Alfredo Talavera- Toluca

2.- Manuel Lajud- Tijuana

3.- José Javier Abella- Santos Laguna

4.- Erick Aguirre- Pachuca

5.- César Montes- Monterrey

6.- Carlos Salcedo- Guadalajara

7.- Jordan Silva- Toluca

8.- Jorge Torres Nilo- Tigres

9.- Carlos Cisneros- Guadalajara

10.- Rodolfo Pizarro- Pachuca

11.- Víctor Guzmán- Pachuca

12.- Erick Gutiérrez- Pachuca

13.- Michael Pérez- Guadalajara

14.- Hirving Lozano- Pachuca

15.- Alfonso González- Monterrey

16.- Oribe Peralta- América

17.- Erick Torres- Houston Dynamo

18.- Marco Bueno- Guadalajara

Powered by Live Score & Live Score App